Trust in Everyday at the Kaiser Wilheim Church in Berlin

My version of the Kaiser-WilheimChurch – Berlin

This is one of the most famous iconic landmarks in Berlin today situated on Kufurstendamm Strasse. Practically, every tourist landing up in Berlin will eventually acquire a picture on their camera roll before departing for their next destination.

Back in the 60’s, my mother would take me with her to Ku-damm for her daily dose of retail therapy.  We even have a family portrait taken along this street in front of the Kaiser-Wilheim church which later became a painting displayed in our living room for many years.

This church was designed by Mr. Franz Schwechten in a Neo-Romanesque style was consecrated in 1895. The church as a whole had a short life because during the November 1943 air raids of WWII, the church was bombed during as it was thought to house the enemies. The church was never fully restored and now stands as a monument to the horrors and atrocities of war.

Today, it is a top ten must see before leaving Berlin and there is a long line outside this museum…oops…I mean church. The day we visited; we waited for over an hour. By the way, while I was taking photos, I sat my purse down on a bench near the church and forgot it. We continued to go inside the church and look around to enjoy the spiritual beauty within.  Afterward, we stopped at one of the food carts to get hot chocolate to warm up and this is when I noticed I did not have my purse any longer. I hit the panic button! All I could think about is how do I replace my passport, my credit cards, my money, my plane ticket, and so on… So I started to retrace my steps. Can you believe after 2 hours and the thousands that passed by this bench ….my purse and everything inside was still there? Only in Germany does this happen! This was a great moment of reflection for me about the society that makes up Germany! It was a moment to rethink and redefine ‘trust’; the greatest lesson of this travel experience in Berlin. We are each other’s keeper!

Kaiser Wilheim Church

Kaiser Wilheim Church

Morning Glory at the Kaiser Wilheim Church

Morning Glory at the Kaiser Wilheim Church

Inside the Kaider Wilheim Church

Inside the Kaider Wilheim Church

Restoration Underway at the Kaiser Wilheim Church

Restoration Underway at the Kaiser Wilheim Church

From A Distance

From A Distance

One response to “Trust in Everyday at the Kaiser Wilheim Church in Berlin

Leave a comment